Registrace | Přihlášení

Košík je zatím prázdný



SHERLOCK HOLMES SELECTED STORIES (Oxford World´s Classics Second Edition)


(Produkt nebyl zatím hodnocen)

Napsat recenzi

Jazyk: angličtina
Publikováno: 2014
Formát: brožovaná; 400 stran kniha
Cena: 227 Kč běžně 252 Kč
Přidat 'SHERLOCK HOLMES SELECTED STORIES (Oxford World´s Classics Second Edition)' do košíku


nebo Hlídající pes, Doporučit známému, Položit dotaz prodejci, Přidat do oblíbených


A new selection of a dozen of the best Sherlock Holmes stories, which sees Holmes at work from the beginning to the end of his career, together with a lively introduction and additional background material. The selection covers the full range of Holmes stories, including country house mysteries, city mysteries, and political tales, as well as the book-length The Sign of the Four. Introduction by Barry McCrea examines the reasons for the stories' enduring popularity, the 'science of deduction', the late Victorian and Edwardian context, and Holmes's rich afterlife on stage, page, and screen. Chronology and explanatory notes provide further historical context. Up-to-date bibliography. Texts taken from the Oxford Sherlock Holmes collections. The only anthology of stories from across the Sherlock Holmes series, and the only edition with attractive additional features, including introduction and notes. New to this edition Different selection of stories: 7 stories in common, 5 new ones, and a total of 12 stories instead of 11. Up-to-date introduction by Barry McCrea replaces the short biographical account by S. C. Roberts of 1950. Standard OWC editorial features (chronology, bibliography, notes) included for the first time. Reset text, and stories taken from the definitive Oxford Sherlock Holmes editions. 'Detection is, or ought to be, an exact science' For more than a century the Holmes stories have held a strange, almost inexplicable grip on the popular imagination. They are intimately associated with late Victorian and Edwardian society, yet curiously timeless in their appeal. The characters of Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson, together with their housekeeper Mrs Hudson and their address at 221B Baker Street are as familiar today as when they made their first appearance in the late 1880s. The stories have been endlessly interpreted, adapted, and modernized, but still it is to Arthur Conan Doyle's originals that we return. This new selection of some of the best of them is designed to give readers a full sense of their world: the brooding fog of London, ruined heirs in creaking mansions, and hidden crimes in the farthest-flung corners of the British Empire. The stories take Holmes's career from its early days to its close, and include the book-length Sign of the Four. Barry McCrea's introduction investigates the currents that lie beneath their surface. ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more. Readership: Readers of detective fiction, modern British fiction, Victorian literature, Sherlock Holmes, and students of fiction and empire, popular fiction, literature and the city, London and the literary imagination, British modernism, and the fin de siécle


Knihovnické kódy

  • EAN: 9780199672066

Publikace od stejného autora

Zákazníci si zakoupili s tímto produktem

Nová recenze

Podělte se o svůj názor na tento titul s ostatními čtenáři.

Otázka proti spamu

G K podpis SKY
Letní čtení

Přihlášení uživatele